Chapter 7:Hunger for God’s Word

After I had that miscarriage the Lord wanted me to learn more and more about Him.  There was a Baptist church that He wanted me to try.  So, I had decided that once I was strong enough, we would all go to that Baptist church.  In the meantime, I would read the Bible constantly.  I so wanted to learn as much as I could about Jesus Christ.  I was so hungry for God’s Word.  I told my husband about this church that I wanted us to try.  He told me that he wasn’t going.  I said, “Don’t you remember, how I felt, when Dad didn’t go to church with us?  Before we got married, you had promised me, that when our children were older, we would all go to a church together?” His reply, “I never said that.”  But a few days later, Ron admitted that he had promised me that, but he still would not go.  That didn’t stop me from going.  That following Sunday, my children and I went to this church.

Once we were at this Baptist church, I brought my children to their Sunday school classes, then I went to mine.  Once these classes were over, I picked up my children and we went into the sanctuary, where we sat down to hear the message being preached.  One thing we learned was the importance of being baptized, by being submerged underneath the water, not sprinkled, like I was in the Lutheran church.  By being submerged, I was surrendering myself to Jesus.  Then, when I came back up out of the water, I would have a new life with my Savior.  I decided that when there was another baptism, I would be baptized.

That night that I was to be baptized, I had asked my husband, if he would come and bring our children to that church and watch me, as I was being baptized.  But he wouldn’t.  I placed a change of clothes and a towel into my car and I drove to church.  When my time came to be baptized, I stepped into the water.  It was then that the pastor said, “I baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit.”  Then he placed me gently underneath the water.  When I came up out of the water, I felt a lot closer to my Savior, Jesus Christ.  It was then that I went into a room and I changed my clothes.  I realized at that time that I had forgotten to bring a hairdryer.  I asked someone there, if they had one.  But they didn’t.  This one woman said, “You are going to get sick, going outside in that cold temperature of 20 degrees about zero.”  My reply, “If Jesus wanted me to be baptized, He would see to it that I don’t get sick.”  Jesus kept His promise, I didn’t.

When I went to this church, Lord God Almighty placed me close to this minister.  While my youngest daughter was in their kindergarten class, and my other daughter was at school, I was helping in the pastor’s office.  While there, he asked me, if I would take a tape recorder with his last week’s message on it to the shut-ins.  I did.  I  enjoyed our fellowship together, as we listened to his message on that tape recorder.  But as I was about to leave, each one said, ” It sure would have been a lot nicer, had the pastor come in person, but I understand why he couldn’t come.  Instead, I am just happy hearing his voice.”

A few months later during one of the services, an elder asked the congregation for their help.  The church needed to borrow six transcribers and 6 typewriters for a few months.  Could anyone there, help them?  I knew where, as Ron and I had them at our home that we weren’t using in his office.  I told this to the elder, but I also added that I would have to ask my husband first, which I did.   Ron told me that they would have to sign a piece of paper showing, how many pieces of equipment we had loaned them.

That following day, as I was driving to the church building with that equipment, I had second thoughts about what Ron wanted me to do.  By the time I drove up to that building, I decided not to give them this paper to sign.  After all, I reasoned, if I did, they may think that I didn’t trust them.  Being a young Christian, I was very concerned about this.  Several months later, when the equipment was returned, one transcriber was missing.  Since I had no proof on how many I had loaned them, I never got it back. If I had listened to my husband by doing what he said, as the Bible commands me to do, all that equipment would have been returned.

Ephesians 5:22:  Wives, be subject (be submissive and adapt yourself) to your own husbands as [a service] to the Lord. :23 For the husband is head of the wife as Christ is the Head of the church, Himself the Savior of [His] Body. :24 As the church is subject to Christ, so let wives be subject in everything to their husbands. (Amplified Bible)

I was so hoping that Ron would change his attitude about these Christians.  Not only did I disobey Ron, but I also disobeyed Christ Jesus.  Please forgive me Lord Jesus.  If I had listened by obeying my husband, things would have been different.  But once again, I blow it.  I’m sorry that I hurt You.

I was disappointed in these people also.  I chose not to go back to that church.  Instead, I stayed at home and continued reading the Bible. I also read other books that told about Jesus.  One book talked about God’s angels.

Christmas of 1977, Ron was acting like Mr. Scrooge.  I prayed, asking Jesus to change his attitude.  At that time he was mentally abusing me.   I had asked Jesus to show him a miracle.  Something that would be so incredible that he wouldn’t have a choice, not to believe.  I wanted him to be a better husband and a better Daddy.

A few days before Christmas, my parents’ maid came down for a visit.  A friend invited us over to their house for that day.  We left to go home after dark.  As my husband was driving the car, our children were looking  out the window up into the sky.  They noticed that a bright star, was moving in the same direction, as we were.  They found that odd.  My oldest daughter tells me what this star was doing.  I looked out the window and into the sky, and yes, wherever my husband was turning, so was this star.  Ron started watching this star from his rear view mirror.  Sure enough, wherever he turned, so did that star.  We finally got to our subdivision.  But when Ron turned down that road into it, the star disappeared.  To our surprise, we see this star reappear about our house.  Because this star was so bright over our house, it lit up our driveway, which was normally dark.  As our children were getting out of the car, they continue to yell, “Jesus is returning!” “Jesus is returning!” As Ron is pushing us gently into the house,  he tells us that it was just the moon.

I went into my daughters’ bathroom and I prayed.  I thanked Jesus for this miracle.  An hour later, I went outside to see, if this star was still there.  The sky was clear, but the star was gone.  If it was the moon, why wasn’t it still there?   Why then, did Ron’s attitude start changing for the better throughout that following year? I knew that Jesus had answered my prayer.  He had sent this bright star as a witness to Ron.  I could also feel the presence of an angel around me.  I couldn’t see it with my physical eyes, but I could sense it with my spiritual eyes.  That angel was tall and stocky.  Jesus had sent this angel for my protection, when I was in a car accident.

As I was driving down the road, it started raining.  The rain was so heavy at times, I could barely see.  Finally, the rain stopped, just in time for me to notice that there was a car in front of me, making a left hand turn.  I applied my brakes, but I didn’t have time to stop.  I plowed right into the back of that car.  Because I wasn’t wearing a seat belt, I was thrown forward, hitting my knees against the dashboard.  From the time that  star had appeared, I had felt the presence of an angel in my den.  I knew that this angel was sent there for a reason.  Right before I had hit that car in front of me, I yelled out to Jesus for His help, and His angel  saved my life.

Leave a Reply

